oh lord, won’t you buy me a mercedes Benz

benz_by_ekkikind-d5pbfnl
Benz, ekkikind, deviantart

Seems like the beginning of a new year is often the time of year to make a list. A to-do list to get all those chores accomplished. A wish list for all those things you didn’t get for Christmas. A list of what you want to do differently or improve. Everybody has their list.I was just pulling together a little shopping list the other day when I got to thinking about a different kind of list.

Not a new year’s resolution list. Not Ko-Ko’s list of “targets” from The Mikado (He’s got ’em on the list — he’s got ’em on the list; And they’ll none of ’em be missed). Not Janis Joplin’s celestial wish list (Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a color TV? Dialing For Dollars is trying to find me). And not just a grocery list. Instead, a list of all the new physical and psychological condtions I’ve managed to acquire since I was first diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease. It’s quite a lengthy list* and, while I’m hoping not to add to it, I’m awaiting some test results that hopefully don’t extend it (at least not yet! I’m 16+ years into PD but not yet 60 years on!).

  • dyskenisis (involuntary movement)
  • impediments in walking (balance, stumbling)
  • impaired hand-eye coordination and depth perception
  • reduced visual acuity
  • weakened voice
  • blank facial expression( the PD mask)
  • muscle cramping
  • drooling
  • dry mouth
  • dental problems
  • choking
  • insomnia
  • over-active bladder
  • weight gain and weight loss (more gain than loss though!)
  • loss of sense of smell and taste
  • fatigue
  • rigidity and restricted mobility
  • postural problems
  • weakened dexterity
  • cognitive impairment
  • mood changes
  • depression
  • social withdrawal
  • gastro-intestinal problems
  • colitis

 

That’s quite the list! I’m not putting it out there to solicit sympathy or evoke empathy. Sadly, many of these ailments go hand in hand with Parkinson’s Disease. Although each person’s own experience will be different, many with PD will experience some, if not many, of these. No doubt there will be others.Yet, when it comes to my list, I’m hoping not to see any new additions. I’m hoping. And praying.  But if an addition is inevitable…..Oh Lord, won’t you make it, a Mercedes Benz.

 

 

* thanks to my friend Nelson Sleno’s list from his book Shaking Hands. I’ve used his (p90-91) as a jumping off point!

3 thoughts on “oh lord, won’t you buy me a mercedes Benz”

  1. Hi Rob; You in my personal opinion are handling your medical condition with a sense of humour, coping to the best of your ability  but in an honest plus straight forward manner. As a fellow CPSS graduate,  we are all maturing in our years here, we all handle in in our own way plus help each other out when called upon. As always just giving you my usual words of support and encouragement here Rob. Cheers from Bob   

    Like

Leave a Reply

