Get Happy!

Photo on 2015-05-09 at 5.25 PM (1)

Forget your troubles, come on get happy. Gotta chase all the blues away.

Always walk on the sunny side of the street.

You got to accentuate the positive, eliminate the negative.

Don’t worry, be happy.

Just put  on a happy face.

 

In the last few years, I’ve spent more time in on-line support groups for people with Parkinson’s. I’m not sure if my observations hold true for others with a chronic disease but I suspect they do.  While the daily “rabble” may vary, there are certain consistencies – the motivational poster of the day, the prayer to a higher power, the pharmaceutical query and the ailment-of-the-day.

From time to time, there is a person who expresses despair or lashes out at their circumstances and this wicked condition called Parkinson’s. Yet, without a doubt, the overall emphasis or tone that is struck is to “be positive”. Don’t dwell on the negative. Seize the moment. Be active. Get outside. Come on, get happy!!

I can understand that. I realize that it’s important to our mental health to be positive. I get it.

But some days I don’t.

Some days I want to be angry. Some days I want to rail out against PD. Some days I wonder how I’m going to continue. Some days I can’t see my way past the pain. I don’t want to “get happy” – to placate my  condition or my feelings of hurt.  I don’t want to wallow in self-pity but I do need to acknowledge these feelings – even if I have no solution or resolution at hand.

So some days I do.

3 thoughts on “Get Happy!”

Leave a Reply

